NGL Hollingsworth Trophy

The Hollingsworth Trophy semi-final line-up is now complete after Staverton Park and Peterborough Milton joined Northants County and Kingsthorpe in the knockout stages.
Staverton progressed through to the last four in dramatic fashion as they edged out Brampton Heath on points difference after a nail biting head-to-head away contest in the last Group B match.
Needing to avoid a 4-1 defeat to top the standings ahead of their rivals, Staverton looked in good shape when Michael Forgione and Michael Franklin took the opening tie 4&2.
Wins for Brampton in games two, three and five put their hopes of progressing in doubt however until Michael Christie and Joshua Morris came good on the 18th hole to book a semi-final with Peterborough Milton, who also qualified in dramatic style.
With a 4-1 home victory against Kettering required to overtake the Group C leaders, Milton were forced to call on all their competitive instincts as they triumphed by that scoreline in a contest when all five games went the distance.
Although home duo Martin Humphries and Dominic Ralfs took the opener, previously unbeaten Kettering won the second point, meaning the hosts knew there was no room for error in the remaining trio of matches.
Paul Armitage and Matt Fovargue won game three, Stefan Salerno and Neil Brown kept the contest alive in the next match, before Scott O’Connor and Simon Purkiss secured the Peterborough victory in the final tie.
Both semi-finals will take place at a neutral venue on Saturday, June 22nd.