Golf news from clubs across the county

Northants County

Fergus Robinson became the Northants County Club champion for 2021 as the plus-two handicapper beat Tom Bullough and Joshua Pritchett by four strokes with scores of 72 and 70

Staverton Park

Forty three points was the leading mark in the Seniors Dennis Ferris Cup at Staverton Park as Charles Smedley secured the plaudits by three from Mick Worthington.

Michael Forgione’s net 68 was the best round in the July Medal a few days later as he finished one ahead of Jamie Humphries, Simon York and Paul Hannam.

Collingtree Park

Excellent scoring was the norm in the July Junior Stableford as Lucy Haywood, Josh Walker and Seth Harris clinched the three nine-hole categories.

Haywood carded the leading main tee total of 25 points, Walker fired 26 points to win the red tee event, while Harris smashed 29 points to finish seven clear in the 150-yard competition.


Becki Scott bagged 38 points to win Daventry’s Ladies July Stableford by two from Sonya Richardson.

A single stroke was the margin of success the following day in the Vogt Cup as Anthony Illingworth and his partner took the pairs honours with a net 61.

Hellidon Lakes

Tom Laver (net 72), Chris Benwell and Iain Walpole (both 69) were the three respective divisional winners in the July Medal at Hellidon Lakes as they all enjoyed comfortable victories.

Priors Hall

Jerry Millar enjoyed a double celebration in the first competition of the month at Priors Hall as he won the Council Cup with the help of a hole-in-one on the 12th hole.

The eight-handicapper’s ace enabled him to shoot 40 points as he finished one ahead of Steve Shiells and Gavin Symington.

Overstone Park

Colin White and Gina Evans combined perfectly in the Ping Mixed Fourball Betterball event at Overstone Park as they fired the leading total of 47 points.

County Junior Organiser Asy Ho claimed the runners-up alongside County Girls team member Emily Nunn (46), as another youngster Oliver Godwin finished third in partnership with Averil Sutcliffe (45).


Countback was needed to decide the winner in both July Saturday and Sunday Stableford at Rushden as the members battled it out for the honours.

Scott Holland’s 40 points secured top spot on the first day from Malcolm Kendall Snr, who finished third in the Roll Up Stableford a few days earlier, before Ian Folwell (37) squeezed in front of Mark Johnson 24 hours later.


Three players came in with the leading score of net 66 in the Wellingborough July Medal as Chris Hartley, Tim Mullock and Matthew Wilkinson all found their form at Harrowden Hall.


Paul Clayton needed to find his best to hold off the challenge of in-form Luke Saywood in Kettering’s July Saturday Medal as a brilliant net 62 secured a two-shot victory.