NGL Scratch Foursomes

Collingtree Park’s Ray Connolly and Jensen Parfitt clinched the NGL Scratch Foursomes title by three strokes as they birdied the closing two holes to triumph in the 36-hole event at Overstone Park.

Wellingborough duo Adam Sherlock and Sam Waite looked set for victory in the first Order of Merit event of the year when they posted just one bogey in an opening round of three-under-par 69 to lead by three at the half way stage.

Although they continued to keep the big numbers off their scorecard throughout the second round, back-to-back bogeys on the last two holes proved costly as Connolly and Parfitt found their best form down the stretch.

After carding three birdies and a magnificent eagle two on the eighth hole in a level par morning 72, the Collingtree pair birdied the 11th and 13th holes in the afternoon before sealing top spot with a two on the tricky 17th and another birdie at the last.

With 22 pairings taking part in the event, the home combination of Dale Burton and Jamie Newton collected the net prize by two shots with a total of 146.

A field of 142 men representing 13 different golf clubs, meanwhile, will compete in the second NGL Order of Merit event of the season on Saturday as the Higgs Bowl takes place at Delapre GC.

With the host venue providing 32 competitors, Overstone Park (18), Priors Hall (17) Wellingborough (16) and Staverton Park (11) will all have high hopes that one of their members will come out on top.

2022 champions: Ray Connolly & Jensen Parfitt