Club competitions in the southern part of the county

Hellidon Lakes

Forty six points was Malcolm Gregory’s breath-taking winning score in the Hellidon Lakes President’s Putter competition as he finished five clear of Angus Watt, with Jon Thorne and Andy McKeown next on 39.

McKeown went into the event in good form after winning the Celebration Cup a week earlier on countback from Gregory and Gavin Aris (net 70).

The two mid-week competitions saw comfortable wins as Graham Newport (net 64) took the July Medal by three shots, while Terry Washbrook (41 points) sealed top spot in the July Stableford by two.


Half a dozen players carded a total of 40 points or more in Collingtree Park’s July Stableford as the members made the most of the good scoring conditions.

George Brooks and Jensen Parfitt faired best as they grabbed first and second positions with 42 points apiece, while Arjun Shah (41), Simon Thomas, Ken Lawrie and Nic Aikin (all 40) also played well.


Bryn Thomas was in impressive touch in the Daventry July Stableford as a total of 40 points secured victory by three from Kevin Lane.

The latest Wednesday Night Thrash went to Jack Cooper (23 points) by two from James Berry, with Phil Jelfs and Kevin Lane a further point off the pace.


Paula Teckkam won the Staverton Park Ladies July Medal with a net 69, while first place in the pre-qualifier for the Nene Trophy went to Janet Lambdon (35 points) on countback from Fiona Stevenson.