Golf News from Southern Clubs

Whittlebury Park

Back-to-back gross birdies on the 14th and 15th holes helped Rene Goodridge win the Whittlebury Park October Stableford on countback from David Jones and Wonder Munemo after all three carded the leading round of 39 points. The Ladies October Stableford went to Carole Kane (36) by five from Sue Colby.

Stephen Herring, meanwhile, collected the Dick Travers Shield after winning the latest 9 O’Clock Club Competition with a total of 41 points. Raymond Swann finished second on 38, followed by Richard Evans (37).


Frank Cassidy and Reg Cullen beat the course at Kingsthorpe by 10 holes to win the Ashby Pairs Bogey Competition on countback from Pat Anderson and Mark Dabell.

Anderson also missed out on the top prize in the October Medal a few days later as a round of net 66 left him one adrift of Bob Lees. Elijah Woodward (66) and Barry Dawes (70) led the scoring in the first and second divisions respectively.

Staverton Park

Denise Aitchison and her partner won the Lavender Trophy at Staverton Park as a total of 41 points lifted them three clear of three different pairings.

Malcolm Pike enjoyed the same margin of victory in the Seniors October Stableford as his score of 39 points kept him ahead of Allen Halliday and Nicholas Cooper. The Ladies October Medal went to Alison McConnell with a net 74.


Net 62 was a magnificent winning round in the opening Winter Medal at Daventry as 25-handicapper Mark Craig secured the plaudits by three from Thomas Gibbs, with James Berry in third on 68.

Jason Smith was successful in the Extra Wednesday Night Thrash a few days earlier as he beat Terence Kempe on countback with a nine-hole total of 19 points.