NGL Handicap League Final

Kingsthorpe withstood a gritty fightback from Kettering to win the Handicap League Final for the second consecutive year by the scoreline 10-9 at Whittlebury Park GC.

Steve Jackson and Elijah Woodward gave the defending champions the perfect start with a four-hole success in the opening tie, before Kev Purkis and Dale Betts extended the lead by two.

Anton Clarke and Ian Townsend added another two-hole victory for Kingsthorpe, before Paul Tupai and Mark O’Neill appeared to put the contest out of Kettering’s reach when they took game four by a couple of holes.

Kettering kept the match alive as Nigel Hanger and Mark Brown secured the penultimate tie by six holes, but Jack Murray and Kevin McHenry’s three-hole success in the last game wasn’t enough to turn the overall scoreline around.

Kettering Handicap Final team