Golf News from Southern Clubs

Collingtree Park

County Vice President Catherine Tildesley joined forces with Collingtree Park junior organiser Simon Haywood and his two children Adam and Lucy to win the Christmas Junior-Adult Team event with an eight-hole score of net 26.

The quartet of Josh Walker, Jessica Walker, Steve Bryden and Jamie Bryden (27) finished runners-up on countback from third-placed Ray Connolly, Edie Connolly, Jensen Parfitt and Louie Shaw.

In a close competition, the three teams led by Seb Welch, Jessica Barby and Vincent Enright missed out on a podium finish after posting the same score.

Staverton Park

Greg Young was successful in the December Medal at Staverton Park as a round of net 69 earned him a single stroke victory from Nicholas Burtt, with Joshua Morris, Daniel Brown, Simon Kember and Nick Heard a further two shots off the pace.

Countback was needed in the Seniors Turkey Trot Stableford after Mike Grey and Iain Murdoch both came in with the leading score of 35 points. The former gained the verdict.

Whittlebury Park

Rob Askham sealed a countback win in the Whittlebury Park December Stableford as the high-handicapper’s better finish in a round of 39 points edged him ahead of John Vincent.

James Baldwin and David Sloanes, who were the leading players in the first and second divisions respectively, both carded 38.

The December Ladies Stableford, which was played over nine holes, went to Deborah Dixon (17) on countback from Danielle Edwards.


Russ Beadsmore’s team came out on top in the Christmas Cracker competition at Kingsthorpe as they compiled the best tally of 94 points. David Garfield’s side finished runners-up on countback from Guy Loveland’s quartet on 91.

Hellidon Lakes

Darren Seaton picked up the first prize in the Hellidon Lakes Christmas Competition as a total of 43 points lifted him clear of Shaun Start (41), with Sam Wade in third on 40.


Two points was the margin of victory in the Daventry Christmas Stableford for Craig Alcock as he grabbed the plaudits ahead of Tyrone Power (36).